Astley & Tyldesley Cycle Speedway Success

Astley & Tyldesley's Pawel Idziorek (right) on his way to a race win
Astley & Tyldesley are the 2019 North & Scotland League Division 1 champions! Team Green won the title for the third successive year with a convincing 102-73 win over local rivals Bury at Goshen on a warm, sunny Sunday afternoon.

A hectic start to the match saw race exclusions in each of the opening three heats, two of which were re-run. The scores were tight early on, with A&T holding a 25-22 lead after heat 5. Team Green then took control with heat wins in each of the next five races, to move into an unassailable 58-38 lead after heat 10. Four more 7-3 heat wins followed to the visitors, with Bury enjoying a 7-2 heat win in heat 15.

For a solid scoring A&T team, Reece Pollitt lost only to Will Owens in heat 9, whilst Tomek Wlodarczyk lost only to Danny Taylor in heat 3, after the tapes caught his helmet at the start. Pawel Idziorek was unbeaten after a race exclusion in heat 2, when he was adjudged to have been the cause of Adam Turnbull's fall on the pits bend. Best for Bury were Kaysar Mohammadi and Kris Ramsden, who both won two races each.