A&T Champions!!

A&T cycle speedway
Astley & Tyldesley's juniors are the Manchester League Division 2 
champions for a fifth successive year!

Bury hosted the 6th and final round of the Manchester League Grand Prix 
series on a warm and dry Wednesday evening. Once again this summer, 
track conditions were dry and slippery.

Astley & Tyldesley took a convincing win in the Division 2 (youth and 
juniors match), to make it six wins out of six this year, to win the division 
for the 
fifth year running. A&T's Aiden Green raced to a maximum score in the 
u-10s match, whilst the 14 points scored by his team mate Duncan Whalley 
was sufficient 
to clinch the u-10 Grand Prix series win. A&T's Tom Morrissey scored 11 
points to secure the u-13 Grand Prix series win. A&T's Ciaran Collins had 
secured the u-19 Grand Prix series win and his 16 points score on the night 
extended his winning margin.

Manchester League Division 2 result (top 5 scorers only count to team totals)
Astley & Tyldesley 73 Stockport 55 Bury 52
A&T scorers: Aiden Green 16, Ciaran Collins 16, Max Evans 15, Duncan Whalley 
14, Lewis Skitterall 12, Emily Burgess 12, Tom Morrissey 11, Myles 
10, Erin Corrigan 10, Charlie Burgess 9, Sabrina Evans 6.

Stockport raced to victory in the Division 1 (seniors) match to seal the 
title for the tenth successive season. There was a close battle for the 
Senior Grand Prix series. Series leader Reece Pollitt, of A&T, started 
the night with a slender 2 points lead. However, although Stockport's 
Ben Higham drew 
level on points, Pollitt kept his nerve to win his last race and clinch 
the Manchester League Grand Prix title by a single point.

Manchester League Division 1 result (top 5 scorers only count to team totals)
Stockport 57 Bury 29 Astley & Tyldesley 28 Sheffield 16 
A&T scorers: Reece Pollitt  13, Steve Harris 10, Max Evans 5.

Final Manchester League and Grand Prix series standings.
Division 2: A&T 18, Stockport 10, Bury 8.
Division 1: Stockport 20, A&T 17, Bury 8, Sheffield 7.
U-10 GP: Duncan Whalley (A&T) 93, Aiden Green (A&T) 87, Tom Dunphy (Bury) 69.
U-13 GP: Tom Morrissey (A&T) 77, Harry Radford (Bury) 73, Charlie Burgess 
(A&T) 59.
U-16 GP: Michael Preston (Stockport) 83, Max Evans (A&T) 79, Devon Campbell 
(Stockport) 62.
U-19 GP: Ciaran Collins (A&T) 52, Eryk Motala (Bury) 28.
Senior GP: Reece Pollitt (A&T) 81, Ben Higham (Stockport) 80, Adam Watson 
(Sheffield) 72.

A&T's Emily Burgess once again starred for the North, Scotland, South East 
& East team in the Women's League Round 2 match at Poole on Sunday. Emily 
won four  
of her six races to top score for the team, with 20 points. However, despite 
her efforts, the team, was narrowly pegged back into third place. Final scores: 
South & South Wales 91 Midlands 88 North, Scotland, South East & East 87. 
Emily raced in the Elite Women's Individual competition afterwards, comfortably 
qualifying for the Grand Prix 'A' Final, where she finished in 3rd place.