Cycle Speedway National Cup Final at Poole

Astley & Tyldesley's Pawel Idziorek (right) on his way to a race win
Astley & Tyldesley team
Astley & Tyldesley put in a good shift in the Cycle Speedway National Cup Final at 
Poole on Sunday. North & Scotland Champions, A&T, lined up against the 
winners of the three other Regional Finals - Gt. Blakenham, Poole, Wednesfield.

A&T's target was simple, to improve on last year's 4th placing, when they scored 
52 points and were well adrift of the other three teams. A pattern quickly 
emerged in this year's final, with the holders Wednesfield and home club Poole 
battling it out for 1st place, and Suffolk side Gt. Blakenham and A&T tussling 
for 3rd place. The scores were close after th first round of 8 races: 
Poole 24 Wednesfield 23 Gt. Blakenham 17 Astley & Tyldesley 16. The gaps had opened 
up by the interval with the scores: Poole 51 Wednesfield 45 Gt. Blakenham 34 
Astley & Tyldesley 30. The outcome was pretty clear cut by the end of three rounds, 
heat 24: Poole 73 Wednesfield 65 Gt. Blakenham 55 Astley & Tyldesley 46. 
A&T finished strongly, winning the last set of four races, to make the final scores: 
Poole 91 Wednesfield 86 Gt. Blakenham 74 Astley & Tyldesley 66. 

It was mission accomplished for A&T, with a much stronger performance from the 
previous year. Polish star Pawel Idziorek was in great form for A&T, dropping 
just two points and finishing joint top scorer with British Champion Josh Brooke 
in the A grade races. Veteran Steve Harris rolled back the years to score 
consistently well, with Reece Pollitt winning his last race for A&T.

Cycle Speedway National Cup Final result 
Poole 91 Wednesfield 86 Gt. Blakenham 74 Astley & Tyldesley 66
A&T scorers: Pawel Idziorek 14, Steve Harris 11, Reece Pollitt 8, Mark Grantham 7,
 Kyle Holland 7, Paul Graham 6, Ciaran Collins 5, Mick Knowles 5, 
Emily Burgess 3.