winning team

Astley & Tyldesley sealed two more team titles at Bury today! In a very tense and close finish, A&T won the Northern Fours League for the first time ever, pipping Stockport by just six race points, after the two teams had tied on match points. A&T beat their closest rivals Sheffield, to win the Northern Junior League title for the third successive year.

A&T started the final round of the series with a one point advantage over Stockport, with Bury a further two points behind in third place. In a very tightly contested match, Hull took the match win on the day, scoring 48 points, with both Andy Angell and Nathan Everett racing unbeaten. Everett’s win from the outside gate over Stockport’s Devon Campbell in the last race proved decisive in clinching Hull’s win on the day. A&T had to finish no more than one place behind Stockport, to win the title, as long as they kept the deficit to less than 8 race points on the day. In a very disciplined team performance, A&T stuck to their guns, regularly picking up 2nd and 3rd places in their races, to finish 3rd on the day, just behind Stockport, but crucially only 2 race points behind. Steve Harris and Reece Pollitt led the scoring, with two race wins apiece, as the team avoided any last places on the day.

Northern Fours League match result
Hull 48 Stockport 47 Astley & Tyldesley 45 Bury 38 Sheffield 35 Heckmondwike 16

Final Northern Fours League standings
Astley & Tyldesley 25 (242); Stockport 25 (236); Bury 21 (226); Hull 18 (203); Sheffield 8 (146); Heckmondwike 8 (125).

A&T scorers: Steve Harris 14, Reece Pollitt 13, Mark Grantham 10, Matt Snell 8, Duncan Whalley dnr.

There was also a close finish to the Junior League series, as A&T and Sheffield started the day level on match points at the top of the table. A&T had a much better turn out of riders than in the penultimate round, and beat Sheffield by 38 points on the day.

In the u-10s category, Sheffield’s Edward Balfour raced to maximum points, with A&T’s Aiden Green losing only to Edward in heat 8. This meant that both riders were tied on points for the u-10 GP series. Edward run the run-off to take the overall series win.

Stockport’s Ewan Ferreira and A&T’s Duncan Whalley both raced unbeaten in the u-13s match. Sheffield’s Kielan Burton raced unbeaten in the u-16s category.

A&T’s Matt Snell raced to a 16 points maximum in the Division 2 event, whilst Sheffield’s Laura Watson did likewise in the best turn out of the year in the Women’s event.

A&T’s Reece Pollitt and Bury’s Eryk Motala’s both finished with 16 points each in the Division 1 and u-19 categories respectively. Reece won the overall Divison 1 GP series.

Northern Junior League match result
(all GP scores except Div. 1 count to team totals)
Astley & Tyldesley 162 Sheffield 124 Bury 53 Hull 42 Stockport 35 Heckmondwike 19

A&T scorers: Duncan Whalley 16, Matt Snell 16, Aiden Green 15, Steven Warn 13, Freddie Cox 13, Levi Edwards 12, Lewis Skitterall 12, Lucy Grantham 12, Chloe Warn 11, Minnie Whalley 10, Myles Grantham 9, Ada Cox 9, Owen Simcock 9, Elizabeth Hindley 5.

Final Northern Junior League standings
Astley & Tyldesley 27 (621); Sheffield 26 (566); Bury 19 (276); Hull 12 (177); Stockport 8 (103); Heckmondwike 7 (124)