Hat trick for Astley and Tyldesley

photo of A & T Team

Astley & Tyldesley made it a hat trick of wins in the North & Scotland League fixture at Hull on Sunday afternoon. It was a hot sunny day, with track conditions tricky, as the track quickly dried out after each bout of watering.

In the Division 1 match, the scores were tight early on, with A&T holding a two points lead after heat 5. Successive 7-3 heat wins to A&T in heats 8 and 9 made the score 51-39 to the visitors.  A&T extended their lead to run out comfortable 99-80 winners. Emily Burgess top scored for A&T, with Duncan Whalley losing only once, and the rest of the main team all scoring solidly.

North & Scotland League Division 1 result

Hull 80 Astley & Tyldesley 99

A&T scorers: Emily Burgess 20 (plus 1 bonus), Duncan Whalley 17 (2), Frank White 17 (2), John White 16, Terry Norman 15 (4), Steve Harris 10 (3), Oscar Belt 2, Josh Pilkington 1, Levi Edwards 1.

The Division 2 match followed a similar pattern, with the scores close early on, at 30-30 after heat 6. A&T then took a 6-4 and a 7-3 heat win, to take the lead, and gradually pulled away to  win 80-68. Duncan Whalley raced unbeaten for A&T, with solid support from the rest of the team.

North & Scotland League Division 2 result

Hull 68 Astley & Tyldesley 80

A&T scorers: Duncan Whalley 18 (2), Oscar Belt 16, Frank White 15, Josh Pilkington 13, Steve Harris 9 (2), Levi Edwards 9 (2).

The Division 3 match was a closely contested affair throughout, with A&T snatching victory in the final heat of the u-13 category. Both teams started the day unbeaten, with Hull having ended A&T’s run of eight successive Division 3 league titles, by winning the division in 2023. A&T’s Alex Lawless raced unbeaten in the u-10 category, whilst Frank White raced unbeaten in the u-13 category. In the end, A&T just managed to overcome their numerical disadvantage (6 riders against Hull’s 7) to take the win by a narrow 75-71 margin.

North & Scotland League Division 3 result

Hull 71 Astley & Tyldesley 75

A&T scorers Alex Lawless 16, Frank White 16, Josh Pilkington 13, Elijah Rechembei 12, Oscar Belt 11, Levi Edwards 7.

Photo attached is of the Astley & Tyldesley 1st team, courtesy of Svitlana Rechembei.

Issued by Mike Hack

Astley & Tyldesley Cycling Club Press Officer