Sport – Cycle Speedway

Photo attached shows Emily Burgess receiving the A&T Club Rider of the Year award from new A&T Club Chairman, Steve Harris. Photo courtesy of Andrew Cox. Attachments area

The Astley & Tyldesley Cycling Club held their 29th annual presentation event in the Concert Room of the Miners’ Welfare Club, at Gin Pit, on Sunday afternoon. Around 80 people

attended, to celebrate the club’s most successful season in their 30 years history. Members were treated to a good buffet, along with DVDs of the season’s racing.

In addition to the many awards presented to riders during the season, a further 137 awards were presented for the first time on the day. A&T won all three divisions of the

North & Scotland League, for the second time in three years, along with the Northern Fours League, Northern Junior League, Manchester Leagues Division 1 and 2. This made it seven

wins out of the eight team competitions contested at regional and local league levels. Four national title winners were honoured – Steve Harris (British o-50 champion), Emily

Burgess (British Girls GP series winner), Frank White (Little League u-8 champion and GP series winner). The Club acclaimed their first ever World Champion – Emily Burgess –

who won the World u-16 Girls title, as well taking 2nd place in the Women’s World Individual Final. Emily and Steve were also applauded for their contributions to England’s

World Cup victories at Women’s and Veterans levels respectively. Frank received special mention for winning every u-8 race that he contested during the season.

The five special rider awards went to:

Club Trophy – Most Improved Rider – Duncan Whalley;

Rory Blackwell Trophy – Best Newcomer – Jessica Hindley;

North West Trophies Cup – Best Novice – Oscar Belt;

J. Fisher & Sons Trophy – Young Rider of the Year – Frank White;

Alan Farrell Memorial Trophy – Rider of the Year – Emily Burgess.

21 volunteers each received presents for their valuable efforts during the season. The Ron Hack Memorial Trophy for the Volunteer of the Year was awarded to coach Chaz Whalley.