Well Done Emily Burgess – Champion!!!


Astley & Tyldesley’s Emily Burgess has won the British Women’s Cycle Speedway Final at Horspath!

She certainly had to work hard for her win, with an unfavourable draw, on a slippery surface on the small, tight Oxfordshire track. Emily started with three race wins, before being beaten by former champion, Lauren Hookway, in heat 13.

Heat 19 proved to be the decider, as Emily lined up off grid 3 against Lizzie Rigley (2) and Maddie Saunders (4), who were also both on 15 points. Former champion, Rachel Lamming lined up off grid 1 for good measure. Emily just managed to gate round Lizzie and pulled away to take a commanding lead.

The two riders behind her clashed on the second lap, with Rigley excluded for obstruction, as Saunders was impeded. In the re-run, Emily made no mistake, gating cleanly ahead of her rivals and going on to take a comfortable race win and the overall title.

So, after finishing 2nd and 3rd in her previous British Women’s Final appearances, and with two age category wins, Emily moved up a level to take the open age Women’s title, at the tender age of 17.


Astley & Tyldesley contested the North & Scotland League Play-offs at Bury on Sunday. Due to Covid restrictions earlier in the year, the League was split into three sub-regional groups, with teams from each group contesting the Division 1 winners final, Division 1 runners-up final and Division 2 winners final.

A&T finished runners-up to Bury in both the North West Division 1 and 2 groups.

In the Division 1 Runners-up Play-off, A&T raced to a comfortable victory over Fife and Hull. Steve Harris and Matt Snell both raced unbeaten, with Reece Pollitt also unbeaten apart from a last race start exclusion.

Pierce Bacon made a welcome return to the side and he dropped just one point to an opponent. This result gives A&T an overall 4th placing in the 2021 Division 1 table, having been champions for the previous three completed seasons.

North & Scotland League Division 1 Runners-up Play off

Astley & Tyldesley 102 Fife 92 Hull 64

A&T scorers: Pierce Bacon 22 (plus 1 bonus), Steve Harris 18 (2), Reece Pollitt 17 (3), Matt Snell 16, Charlie Burgess 12, Tom Morrissey 8 (1), Duncan Whalley 7, Owen Simcock 2.

Sheffield won the Division 1 winners Play-off, with Fife winning the Division 2 winners Play-off.

Photos attached are of Emily Burgess (centre) on the rostrum at the British Women’s Final, flanked by Maddie Saunders (2nd) and Lauren Hookway (3rd).

Photos courtesy of Mike Hack.

Link to footage of the deciding race in the British Women’s Final.

Footage taken and posted by Martyn Hepworth on YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FnqYLFlFxew

Mike Hack
Astley & Tyldesley Cycling Club Press Officer